It happened.

I completed my first full marathon, all 26.2 miles of it.

photo(9)

Rise and shine, it’s marathon morning!

 

It’s a weird feeling to have finished something you’ve worked so long towards. On one hand, I feel like I have so much free time now and should enjoy becoming a social human being again. On the other, I really can’t wait for my muscle soreness to fully go away so I can go on an easy run (darn DOMS…)

 

In the meantime, here is what I have been doing with myself the past few days:

1. Going to bed at 9:00 (see above: enjoy being a social creature)

2. Getting deep-tissue massages from an 8 year-old climbing all over me (seriously…. That might be a thing)

3. Eating massive amounts of meat (plus carbohydrates) immediately following the marathon

4. Continuing to eat massive amounts of carbohydrates 2 days after said marathon (mostly in the form of bread from Great Harvest Bakery)

 

photo(8)

Post marathon dinner: Obsidian Stout (on nitro!), Elk burger (with bacon!), and chocolate cake (also with bacon!)

(And for the record, there was plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and water consumed as well… I did pay a lot of money to learn about nutrition, you know)

photo(7)

Day after marathon meal: Apocalypse IPA, and a lamb burger, bacon-free 😦

And before you can ask, yes, I plan on doing it again.

 

IMG_0509

Sweet victory

 

Leave a Reply

