I’m Back! And I made a Dutch Baby!

Ha that’s a funny title for a post, isn’t it?

Well things have been crazy on my end of the internet; I’ve found another job starting next month (which brings me up to 1 part time job and 1 full time job…), I’ve substantially increased my exercise for racing season, AND I’ve been acting like a proper 23-year-old and have been spending more time with my friends. I’m so proud of myself.

With all these other activities needless to say my postings here have been a bit, ummm, nonexistant. But stay tuned, I’ve got exciting things coming up! Start thinking about a new way to enjoy Cuban sandwiches, my new favorite pizza, the best recipe for using ground beef, a delicious vegetarian pasta, and tips for getting dinner on the table when you get home from work at 6:30 pm and still need to fit in a 4 mile run. It’s gonna be good!!!

In the mean time, enjoy this breakfast recipe, or in my case a today-was-my-day-off-but-I-still-don’t-feel-like-making-dinner recipe.

photo(2)

As you can see I started eating this giant pancake before I decided I should take a picture of it. And before you even have to ask, yes, I did eat this entire thing by myself.

Dutch Babies are also known as German pancakes, and are a staple on the menu at the Original Pancake House (which originally started here in Portland!). My dad’s family grew up going there once a week for dinner, so needless to say these pancakes are serious business at my house.

We’ve always used a 14″ cast iron skillet with high sides to cook these in, but something round like a 10″ pie pan would work too. Simply reduce the amount of eggs used to three, or cut the recipe in half, so the pancake has plenty of room to expand, depending on the cooking vessel you plan on using

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Place 3 tablespoons of unsalted butter in the pan you plan on cooking the Dutch Baby in, and place in the preheating oven for the butter to melt.

In a medium bowl, beat 4 eggs with a whisk or fork for one minute. Slowly beat in 1/2 c of half and half. Slowly add 1/2 c flour and mix until combined. Don’t worry about lumps in the batter.

Remove the pan from the oven, pour the batter over the melted butter, and make sure your oven comes back up to temperature before sticking the pan back in the oven.

Bake for 20 minutes WITHOUT PEEKING!!!! Otherwise you run the risk of your Dutch Baby not puffing up properly and falling,

Serve hot out of the oven with plenty of fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

