Peanut Butter and Jelly Pancakes

I love Tuesday mornings. I get to sleep in, read the paper with my coffee, take my dog on a long walk, and most importantly, make breakfast foods.

“All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast” – John Gunther

coffee

I also loooove having time to make frothy milk for my coffee

This morning I woke up with a sweet tooth, and a hankering for peanut butter and jelly cookie bars. Yes, I did just say hankering. Anyways, instead of starting my day off with cookies (which is something I’m not opposed to…) I turned my craving into pancakes, a more socially acceptable form of early morning sweets.

pb pancakes- use

Ingredients:

1 c dry pancake mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill High Fiber Pancake/Waffle Mix)

1 c milk

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla  extract

1/2 c peanut butter

1 c fresh or frozen berries

2 tsp jam

* I used frozen blackberries and homemade blackberry jam

maple or berry syrup, or powdered sugar for serving

Directions:

Preheat a griddle pan to 350 degrees.

Combine pancake mix, 3/4 c milk, egg, vanilla, and peanut butter in a bowl and stir to combine. Add remaining milk if batter seems too thick. Fold in berries.

Fold in jam until just combined, and stripes of jam can still be seen.

Drop batter onto hot griddle using approximately 1/4 c spoonfuls and cook until golden brown on both sides. Pancakes are ready to flip when edges are browned and pull away from griddle, and bubbles appear throughout pancake.

Serve with more berries, a pat of butter, and your choice of syrup.

pb pancakes plate

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Pancakes

  1. Ahhhh silly word choice… I used to have a milk steaming wand from a cheap espresso machine but it broke, but I’m used to saying “steaming milk” because of it. Technically I frothed this milk on the stove with a lot of whisking… It basically give you the same thing though

Leave a Reply

