Shaved Asparagus, Mushroom, and Goat Cheese Pizza

I love homemade pizza. Love love love it. So when a friend of mine gave me the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook for my birthday last week, I knew immediately what I had to make first- this pizza.

With the addition of goat cheese, juuust enough mushrooms in the fridge (seriously- mushrooms go like chocolate cake in this house), and thanks to Portland’s mild winters, fresh rosemary, this might be my new favorite pizza. Might be. Ask me that next week when I’ve tried a new recipe…

photo(10)

I might make a lot of pizza, but this is possibly the closest I’ve gotten to a circular crust

Ingredients:

1 ball of pizza dough

flour for rolling out dough, cornmeal (optional)

olive oil

1 1/2 c shredded mozzarella

1/2 lb asparagus

1 c sliced mushrooms (crimini, white, or other varieties of a similar size)

3 oz goat cheese

1 tsp fresh rosemary, minced

salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Sprinkle cornmeal on pizza pan, if desired, and roll out dough and transfer to pizza pan.

To shave asparagus, simply hold onto a spear by it’s tough end, lay it flat on a cutting board and make shavings using a vegetable peeler (y-shaped ones work best), moving from the tough end to the tip. Don’t worry if the shaving are different thicknesses, thinner pieces will become more crispy in the oven and add to the texture. Toss asparagus shavings in a bowl with a small drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper.

Drizzle olive oil on pizza crust and top with shredded mozzarella, shaved asparagus, and sliced mushrooms. Sprinkle on crumbled goat cheese, chopped rosemary, and season lightly with salt and pepper.

Bake for 15 minutes until crust is crispy and cheese is bubbling.

4pic pizza

Together my roommate (read: mom) and I ate 5/6 of this pizza… I challenge you not to do the same!

Leave a Reply

