Toasted Cornbread and Black Bean Salad

The month of May seems to be passing by realllly quickly. And I don’t like it. Which is why I can’t seem to get past wanting Mexican and Tex-Mex inspired food ALL THE TIME. I’m in denial that we’re this far past Cinco de Mayo.

Not to mention that I think margaritas are always a good idea. Especially after deciding to finally start drinking the bottle of Patron I’d been “saving for a special occasion” a few weeks ago (when it actually was Cinco de Mayo). This is obviously a ridiculous thought because I never do anything exciting enough to warrant being called a “special occasion”. Whatever, I digress.

Back to this salad! I had strangely been craving cornbread for the past few days and had been sitting on this recipe and this recipe waiting to make something along the same lines, so I sort of combined ideas from the two to make a more filling meal, rather than a side dish.

Toasted cornbread and black bean salad

Looking at that picture makes me think of My Drunk Kitchen…. The key to good Mexican food is a shit ton of limes! If you have no idea what I’m talking about go watch this right now. You’re welcome in advance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XT46FV64dr8

Jargaritas anyone???

Ingredients:

1 batch of your favorite cornbread recipe (I like to mix 1 c medium ground cornmeal, 1 c whole wheat flour, 3/4 tsp salt, 4 tsp baking powder, 1 c milk, 1 egg, and 1/4 c melted butter, then bake in a 9×9 greased pan for 25 minutes at 425 degrees…. but that’s just me)

1 15 oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed

3 Roma tomatoes, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1/2 of a small onion, diced

1 jalapeno, seeded and minced

1 c frozen corn, thawed

1/4 c chopped fresh parsley or cilantro

1/3 c crumbled queso fresco

juice of 3 limes

salt and pepper

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and dice the cornbread into 1 inch cubes.

Bake cornbread until dry and crispy, about 10-15 minutes, stirring halfway through.

Combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl, taste and adjust seasonings.

Mix in toasted cornbread right out of the oven and serve immediately with a large margarita that has a salted rim (mandatory detail).

2 thoughts on “Toasted Cornbread and Black Bean Salad

  1. It’s like you read my mind…I made cornbread yesterday to go with chili and had no idea what to do with the leftovers (besides devouring them, obviously). Now I know! I bet this would be really good with some avocado too :) mmmmmmmmmmm!

  2. Dooo iiittttttt it was so good! Even on the second day, when the cornbread lost it’s crispiness, it was still delicious. And it would definitely be good with avocado!

Leave a Reply

